A Paleo Blueberry Crisp & Celebrating the Autumnal Equinox

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

There’s definitely been a shift around here this week, and I kind of love it.

Even though the weather is still pretty warm here in Colorado, the Autumnal Equinox blew in and, as if on cue, pine needles are suddenly falling from the trees like rain and the Aspen trees in our little grove out front are growing fragile and gold.

The girls and I took a hike before school one morning this week. There’s a trailhead maybe a quarter of a mile from their school, so the kids and dog piled into the car and we set out to gather some “fall treasures” from the woods to use later for making Fall crowns (their idea).

I needed a way of my own to celebrate the Autumnal Equinox. So I headed to the kitchen.

For me, the cooler weather always means a return to baking, so there I went breaking out the pans and firing up the oven, and starting to think about soups and stews for dinner. And dessert, of course.

We don’t do a ton of dessert right now, mainly because I can’t tolerate a lot of sugar. I’ve been on the autoimmune paleo diet for about five months now and have slowly begun reintroducing foods, which means I’m still pretty careful.

But. BUT! It’s Fall now! And that definitely called for a special treat this week. A warm, gooey crisp was the perfect way to usher in the new season.

This one got a huge thumbs up from my husband, and I have a feeling I’ll be making it this winter. If you’re one of the lucky ones that live near an apple-picking orchard, you could even make a good apple crisp. Either way, you cannot go wrong.

Happy fall!

 

Blueberry Crisp (Paleo)

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Print

Adapted from The Curious Coconut

Ingredients

  • 20 ounces of frozen (or fresh) blueberries
  • 1 cup unsweetened, shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (softened)
  • TBS cinnamon

Directions

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350.
  2. Spread blueberries evenly across the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together shredded coconut, coconut flour, brown sugar and cinnamon.
  4. Add coconut oil and mix. (Use softened oil, not completely liquefied. This will make the mixture “clump” together nicely.) I find it easiest to just to knead the mixture with my hands instead of using a mixer or wooden spoon. Sprinkle evenly over blueberries in the baking dish.
  5. Bake for 40 minutes or until the top browns.
  6. Serve alone or with vanilla coconut milk ice cream on top. (Luna & Larry’s Coconut Bliss Vanilla Island ice cream is my favorite.)

Leave a Reply

