Paleo Pumpkin Spice Latte + a Fall Playlist

Processed with VSCO with a8 preset

 

Guys. I know I run the risk of committing an almost sacrilege when I admit that I’m not hugely into the whole pumpkin spice latte thing.

Oh wait, it’s now called the #PSL.

They are yummy and seasonal, I totally get that part, but the part that I find a bit of a turnoff is that this coffee drink is now a hashtag. Guys, I’m old. I can’t be hopping onto hashtag bandwagons all the time, you know I mean?

Don’t misunderstand. I’m not anti-PSL. I’m not even anti-Starbucks (because hallelujah they now have COCONUT MILK for us high maintenance dairy-free/soy-free/nut-free folks!). But the craze has become so crazy that I find myself heading the other direction and opting for plain old joe on days that I can tolerate coffee.

Processed with VSCO with a8 preset

Buuuuuuuuut ….. since it’s fall and the leaves are all crispy now and I’m pulling out sweaters, I decided to be a little festive this morning. I made a homemade paleo PSL. And, you guys, it’s really yummy. And so much cheaper and easier than driving to Starbucks.

Also, plus, you can totally customize the sweetness. So there’s that.

It’s so easy that I’m not even including a printable link. Here’s what you do: in a high-speed blender, mix one can of full fat coconut milk + one can of pumpkin puree + 1 TBS vanilla + 1 tsp pumpkin spice (or cinnamon). Whip it up and pour into a ball jar to store in the fridge.

When it’s time for your latte, make a cup of coffee, add your desired amount of PSL mix + any additional honey if you need sweetness. Stir or whirl in the blender for an extra foamy treat. Drizzle with coconut cream if you’re feeling barista-ish. That’s it.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

I’m making coffee. Meanwhile this monkey is climbing the cabinets in search of some pretty bowls for mud-pie-making outside in the yard.

And because a warm drink only goes amazingly well with mellow autumn tunes, I’m including a link to my current favorite playlist. It’s been the soundtrack for my month, a collection of songs that I’ve gathered here and there and I love it. It’s a little folksy, a little mopey, a little bluegrassy at times, but perfect for overcast mornings and weekending.

Click here for my Free Falling Playlist on Spotify.

Have a wonderful weekend, friends. Get outside, whether rain or shine, to enjoy the season’s brief bounty.

Leave a Reply

