Give the Gift of Health: My Top Gift Picks for Vibrant Living

hzujfzlxvqy-annie-spratt

It’s no secret that I love giving handmade gifts to friends and family. There’s something really magical about the process of creating, pouring time and energy and thoughtfulness into something useful for someone dear. Creating … that’s my love language to those who mean much to me.

But not all of us thrive on the making aspect of gifts. Perhaps your love language is in searching for the perfect gift, the thrill of the hunt. Or maybe the thought of gifting simply wears you out. If that’s the case, then perhaps you are the one that you need think of in terms of being the recipient. In a season that’s packed full of giving and goodness and festivity, sometimes we can forget to give back to ourselves causing holiday burnout and energy drain.

Health and happiness are the greatest gifts we can bestow on both ourselves and others. Here are some of my favorite gift ideas geared toward restoring both of those aspects this holiday season. Perhaps think of these as one-for-you-and-one-for-me gifts. Give one away, but also? Give the same back to yourself. There’s no guilt in that.

These gift-giving ideas are categorized under five important foundations of health and wholeness: Mind, Body, Sleep, Food and Soul Care.

MIND

This app. Meditation has becoscreen-shot-2016-12-22-at-8-51-55-amme a morning staple in my routine, and on days when I neglect to tend to it, I can feel a negative difference. Research has suggested that a regular mindful meditation practice can help ease mental distress such as anxiety and depression. I love that Headspace can go with me anywhere since it’s on my phone. You can
personalize your meditation practice by selecting the length of each session and the focus. Right now, I’m working through a 10-day pack designed to cultivate more patience … and, Mamas, let me tell you that it is changing my parenting game. Try it for yourself with Headspace’s free 10-day trial. Give a subscription to someone who could use a little zen (who couldn’t, right?) and make sure to download it for you, too.

This book, ladies. It can change your life. It has mine. If you’ve ever grappled with depression or felt like you could be more in control of your health and happiness, it’s a must-give, must-read-for-yourself gift. Empowerment is everything in our health journeys. See yourself through a new lens … as an empowered, vibrant woman who has the ability for self-healing.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

BODY

Give the gift of  a super-yummy, toxin-free body cream. (Use the recipe for my Night Balm.) Pour into glass Mason jars for gifting, stir in 20 drops of your favorite essential oil or oil combinations, and voila … instant handmade gift that’s perfect for dry winter skin. I like to keep a jar of this by my kitchen sink for cracked hands, and it’s also my favorite face cream (without the essential oils.)

Grapefruit + mint is a perky combo for morning wake-ups. Lavender + eucalyptus is a soothing blend for sick days. Or, my personal holiday favorite (a sort of hippy holiday scent) is sweet orange, patchouli, pine and a touch of cinnamon.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

 SLEEP

rnr12i78sfo-krista-mangulsone

Sleep is one of the most crucial foundations to good health, especially if you’re like me and trying to stay on top of autoimmune flare ups. Research shows that even a few lost hours of sleep per night can have a negative impact on inflammatory responses within the body. In another post, I’ll outline my evening routine for optimal sleep. In the meantime, one of my favorite ways to get the most out of my sleep is magnesium. It can have a positive effect on the body’s stress response and personally, I find that it relaxes me to the point where getting to sleep is easier.

A great way to absorb magnesium, besides supplements, is a good 20-minute soak in epsom salts. To gift this, simply fill a large Mason jar with epsom salts, combined with about 30 drops of your favorite essential oils. Add a gift tag with instructions to pour a cup of the mixture into a warm tub and soak for at least 20 minutes to reap the full benefits of relaxation.

FOOD

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

Food is medicine, friends, and it’s one of my favorite ways to show love. If you’re looking to gift food in an easy form, this cookbook is the one you want. An organic diet rich in vegetables, fruit, good fats and high-quality meats has become a staple for me in terms of healing my autoimmune diseases and depression. The authors Mickey Trescott and Angie Alt guide you through delicious recipes designed specifically for autoimmune healing. It’s a great place for those who are new to their health journeys to begin.

Or, make and deliver a sweet treat in person as a thoughtful gift. My Paleo Blueberry Crisp is a quick assembly in the kitchen and would make a delicious ending to a holiday meal. Don’t forget to make one for your own household, too.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

 

SOUL CARE

img_9283

Soul care can obviously look vastly different for each of us, so a little bit of thought might need to go into this type of gift. Personally, I love giving other women gifts that inspire a bit of introspection or self-care … a pretty journal, handmade beeswax candle (which takes literally 60 seconds to make) or an inspiring book for the nightstand.

I recently received How to Be a Wildflower: A Field Guide as a birthday gift and have loved spending time with a cup of tea pouring over its colorful and playful pages.

Processed with VSCO with a9 presetThis book, too, is a really special guide to self care, and it focuses on each season. I love reading each new chapter at the beginning of a season and gathering inspiration for how to navigate the changes.

Hopefully this provides a bit of inspiration if you’re still in search of gifts. May this season bring you health, wholeness, peace and vibrance, friends.

 

 

Leave a Reply

