weekending: a turmeric latte + positive vibes only

 

A photo by Geoffrey Arduini. unsplash.com/photos/ea9Zg7HkFXQThis week has been a whirlwind of activity … it typically is … but I’m finding my mind is really overwhelmed with all there is to think about. And my body feels depleted, too. News headlines have been baffling. My daily meditation has given way this week to two tiny little feet that seem to hit the ground running as soon as I open my eyes . My morning routine has been off. Our schedule, too. Things just feel “off.” Do you ever feel this way?

And so, I’m pressing the brakes on this weekend. A bit of a reset is in order. Steve and the kids headed up to ski with some friends, and I chose to stay home. Of course there are things to do … meal planning, a house to clean, laundry to fold … and I will be doing all of them today. But, here’s what I won’t be doing: racing the clock. Reading the news. Viewing (and/or cursing) my chores as work. Engaging with anything or anyone that does not add positivity to my day. Only taking in that which fulfills, nourishes and adds to the wellbeing of this household. Starting with this …

Listening to positivity. I love podcasts. Love them! Especially when I cook or fold laundry. And I’m fascinated with the ideas of mindfulness and compassion. It seems so timely right now to focus on compassion for others. Tara Brach, a psychologist and proponent of Buddhist meditation, has some great talks that I’ve enjoyed in the past. These two, Part One and Part Two, are on my listening list and I’m going to fire them up after I finish my tea. Which brings me to this yumminess…

Cooking for health. Ah, the turmeric latte. I think I’ve finally found a recipe that is perfection. This one is made with fresh turmeric, which is incredible for easing inflammation. My last blood test results showed that my inflammation is off the charts, so I’m being mindful of adding in foods and spices that are anti-inflammatory. The ginger is warming and so wonderful on cold winter mornings. I’ve tried making this with both ground ginger and turmeric, and also fresh. And I have to say, fresh is the way to go if you have the time. I love making a cup of this on the weekend when I have time to peel and slice the roots. Such a treat!

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 cup hot water

1/2 cup coconut cream

1 TBS coconut sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp peeled and finely chopped turmeric root

1 tsp peeled and finely chopped ginger root

pinch of sea salt

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

Peel the ginger and turmeric roots, and then finely chop them up. Set them aside.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

 

In a small pan on the stovetop, add the water, coconut cream, vanilla, sugar and a pinch of sea salt. Stir frequently and heat until just before the mixture boils.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

 

Next, add the heated liquid and your chopped turmeric and ginger to a high-speed blender. Blend on high for a minute … or until everything is fully mixed. You still might have some small bits of ginger or turmeric root. Don’t worry, you can pour your latte through a fine mesh sieve into a mug to get rid of them.

And voila! I hope you enjoy your weekend, friends. And I hope you are able to carve out a pocket of time devoted to resetting your mind and body.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

