chocolate mousse (paleo) + a roots revival playlist

hipstamaticphoto-510007410-921961

At almost any point in the day in our home we’ve got tunes cranked … sometimes with dueling songs if the kids are having a dance party in the living room. In an earlier post, I mentioned that I use music in the morning as a way to set the tone for our day. To me, it’s one of the little details about our days at home that just make me so happy. We might as well make our spaces as beautiful and enjoyable as possible, right? Plus, all of my memories growing up are tied to certain songs, and I hope that someday my girls will grow up remembering little bits about our time together when they hear an old song playing.

Lately, I’ve been on a bit of a bluegrass-y, folksy kick … something a little more upbeat for spring than my usual moody winter, acoustic mixes. It’s still nice and mellow enough for making your morning coffee or even cooking dinner in the evening. These songs are like cozy little bookends for your day — we save the hardcore beats and bass for after-school dance parties and driving around town. So, click on over if you’d like to get my Roots Revival Playlist. 

And now, into the kitchen…

hipstamaticphoto-510006699-037941

Also! If you’re like me and have a chocoholic (or two) in your home, I highly recommend you make this chocolate mousse recipe. I also recommend that if you’re making this for children, to scoot them out of the kitchen the first few times you make it. There’s a secret ingredient — avocados– and sometimes that can throw off their opinion of it before they even taste it. Trust me, it’s SO GOOD and both of my girls have enjoyed it. (You really cannot taste the avocado.) The trick is to get them to like it, and then let them see how you make it.

The thing I like about this mousse is that it contains a ton of good fats since it’s made from avocados and coconut oil — great for growing brains (and us adults, too). It’s super rich, so a little goes a long way; and it’s perfect for tossing into school lunches. Usually, I’ll whip everything up in a blender and then pour into tiny mason jars (see my photo above), seal and store in the fridge for up to 3 days. Most of the time, my youngest wants to eat it straight out of the blender! The texture is more like that of a chocolate pudding when it’s fresh from the blender; after an hour or two of refrigeration it’s more like a mousse.

Personally, I think it tastes amazing right when you make it. It takes five minutes to assemble and pour into ramekins or little dessert dishes. I’ve made this for dinner guests before and simply threw the ingredients into a blender and served in little bowls straight away. For grown-ups, a pouf of whip cream (coconut cream if you’re dairy free) on top and a handful of berries is a nice touch.

 

Paleo Chocolate Mousse

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 2 medium (ripe) avocados
  • 4 TBS coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup raw organic honey
  • 1 1/4 cups full fat coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 TBS of a good cacao powder, I like this one
  • 3/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Directions

  1. Toss all ingredients into a high-speed blender.
  2. Blend well until smooth.
  3. Pour and serve (or store in the refrigerator for up to 3 days).

Leave a Reply

